2017 Men’s Final Four

The NCAA Men’s Final Four is familiar to local Arizona fans.

The state previously hosted the 2017 edition of college basketball’s marquee event at the then-named University of Phoenix Stadium, today’s State Farm Stadium, in Glendale, AZ. 

North Carolina, Oregon, Gonzaga and South Carolina were welcomed to the Valley as the Final Four competitors in the 68-team tournament. The Tar Heels topped the Ducks, and the Bulldogs edged out the Game Cocks in their National Semifinals matchups on April 1, 2017, in front of 77,612 fans, the second-highest total in history.

The championship game was held two days later on April 3, 2017, when UNC defeated the Zags, 71-65, to win their 6th National Championship, with nearly 23 million people watching the television broadcasts in 176 countries.

The 2017 Men’s Final Four also brought several ancillary events to the Valley for fans to enjoy, including the Music Festival, Final Four Fan Fest and Tip-Off Tailgate, all of which will return for the 2024 Men’s Final Four.